top of page
Search

The first day of my teaching career...


Yesterday marked a day I will never, ever forget. It’s a day that I’ve never, ever dreamed of. Teaching 1st and 3rd grade. Hahahaha. If you know me well, you know that I loveeeee my kiddos but I often lack the patience to sit and teach with them for too long. Well, as I said in yesterday’s post we are headed into unchartered waters. So. Here. We. Go.


Our normal schedule usually begins with the kids’ morning chores, 30 mins of reading and 30 mins of free time before any school work begins. This schedule is mostly for James, because his internal alarm wakes him at about 6:05 every morning. Emma on the other hand rolls out of bed around 8:30-9:00 if you let her sleep. So, by the time the morning routine was done the kids were excited to see what their teachers had in store. We are so blessed that our teachers at their school have put together such a great schedule and lessons via google classroom. Navigating it really didn’t take too much to learn and the kids enjoyed each lesson we went through. James has a chrome book that he received from school, so getting used to doing things online was not hard for him at all. We worked through the lessons, took breaks, had lunch, snacks, recess and we were all finished up by around 3:30! It really worked so smoothly!


One of our afternoon activities lately has been to walk down to the creek in our neighborhood and toss rocks and sticks in it to see who can throw the farthest. So after a grueling competition of rock throwing we headed home for free time for the kids and free time for mom/Mrs. S. My free time includes listening to a pod cast and cleaning the house up. Pretty exciting.


I’ve been really struggling to get my movement in lately. I dread having to do a home workout and it just hasn’t been the nicest to run everyday. But, it was decent out yesterday so Ben and I went for a run around the neighborhood together while the kids were home enjoying some screen time. (Not to worry, we left a phone and took a phone, they were perfectly safe!). Running definetly takes off my anxiety edge though. If I could I’d run outside everyday I would. Love the adrenaline rush, Ben isn’t a huge fan yet, but I’m working on him. :)


The first day of at home school really flew by. We’re excited to work this new schedule together and see how much we grow during this time. We have to adjust our crafts to once a week and work in some P.E. and music time as well, so that will be fun! I truly am enjoying a glimpse of their school lives, that I don’t normally get to see. I’m so grateful for this time we have together to slow down and really focus on our relationships together.




We continue to pray that this virus will be alleviated soon, and we pray for those who have been affected by it. The kids pray daily for those who are anxious or stressing and who can’t find comfort. Emma prays that they know God is in control, and James always says he knows that no matter what happens, someday in heaven we will be free from all pain. If there is anything we learn during this time, it’s to trust in the Lord with all of our hearts, and lean not on our own understanding. Proverbs 3:5-6


xoxo,

Kaelyn


(Hopefully this will add a smile to your day, Emma is loving making faces out of the toilets these days... she thinks it’s hilarious and we do too!)


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page