top of page
Search

Crazy or Confident?

Hello Everyone!!


I realize it’s been a while since I’ve written one of these bad boys, but in all honesty I haven’t felt like I’ve had much to say. Well, that’s not necessarily true either, I’ve been busy trying to get our kiddos settled and get our house turned into a home. But, in the back of my mind I have been thinking about all of the content I could and should be writing about. So here goes nothing, my first blog post since moving away from Nebraska!


If you follow me on instagram, today I posted a transformation Tuesday photo. Now, normally I’m not one to post scantily clad pics of myself (not sure anyone needs to see that) but it’s a picture that I am so proud of. Last year around January or February I was getting frustrated with my gym results. I was following a bunch of great instagram influencers and learning how to do lifts through their pages. I wasn’t very consistent, always trying out a new move each day, and I wasn’t very confident that I was actually doing anything to help create the body goals I was reaching for. Well, after about a month and a half of seriously getting after it in the gym and seeing how great my husbands results were compared to mine, I was upset. Of course, I know men lose weight quicker than women (not fair) and I also knew that I was probably cheating in a few more snacks then him because I am with my always snacking kids more than he is (also not fair). Haha, anyway! I was fed up, so I looked to those instagram girls I was following and I decided to buy one of their 8 week programs. It was the longest I’ve ever stuck to a workout plan, and the longest I’ve ever been able to tighten up my eating habits. But it worked! I started seeing changes in my body that I had told myself I’d never be able to have. While I honestly didn’t lose any weight, I saw through photos certain body parts starting to lift, tighten and build muscle and it was awesome! The photo I posted is a picture I took after completing the program 2 and half times. Since then, I’ve been able to keep going with her program on my own while adjusting things as I felt needed. Recently, I’ve felt my habits begin to slip, especially since we’ve moved and my routine has completely changed. So, I’ve purchased the PWR Program by Kelsey Wells to help me get a kickstart back on track. So far, I’m loving it and the flexibility (but I’ll do a full run down of that program another time).


As I’ve said before I have always suffered from slight anxiety and depression, and this has never really been great for my confidence. I’ve never really felt comfortable enough in my own skin, even as a super sport loving fit teen. I can honestly say that this past year has changed that. I know there are so many things that I can chalk it up to, but one of the main reasons is learning how to take care of my body. I’ve always had the mind set of working out is something i needed to do to punish myself for eating too much and that was exhausting and mentally tiring. Trying to teach myself that working out for my mental health was a struggle, but once I was able to see the benefit of flipping it around, I finally was able to see the results i didn’t know I was craving. I didn’t know that the reason I couldn’t stick with a program was because I just didn’t love doing an hour of cardio everyday (who does? If you do, you are a rockstar). I didn’t

know that the reason I wasn’t seeing physical results was because of all that cardio I was doing, my body craved carbs to rebuild those muscles i had just burned out. So after my long cardio sessions I ended up bingeing all the food, placing me back at square one. I didn’t know that your food could be your friend, that learning about Macros would change the way I looked at a meal.


Anyway, I know this has been a long one, so I’ll just say this. That photo may just look like a tiny transformation, but to me it was one of my biggest accomplishments. This girl has gone from an underconfident, cardio hating, food enemy, basket case to a food for fuel, weight lifting, confident basket case( what can I say, don’t have all my crap together yet). But, my journey started with one small step, and that was just being open to the idea of trying out something new. Don’t be afraid to say yes to something you thought you would never like. Who knows, it could be your next life changing moment.


xoxo, Kaelyn


129 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page