top of page
Search

House to Home

Well, it’s officially been two months here and everything seems to be coming along really great! Kiddos are adjusting at school, work for Ben has slowed down slightly and I’ve painted about every room in the house that I possibly can, haha. But, honestly we are really settling in here and the house has started to feel more and more like home.


Ben and I have always loved a home with character and I think that’s why we fell in love with this place. When we first walked through it, we loved the ornate crown molding, the chair railing, and we both saw all of the potential this 90’s home held. We replaced the living room and kitchen floors with matching wood and refinished it all to a nice light walnut color. Our next project was starting to replace the dated gold/brass lighting with some more modern styles! This is the part I love! We didn’t want to go toooo modern, and overtake the classic character of the house. So, we decided to go with black fixtures and eventually will be replacing the door handles and hinges. But for now, I thought I’d show off some pictures of the kitchen and living room! I’m loving how it’s coming along and hope you enjoy a little peak at our world here in Chicago <3

Before: I’ve always loved the white cabinet trend, but the husband doesn’t :(. So in order to revamp our kitchen without painting cabinets or completely redoing it all, we decided to update the flooring and light fixtures.



After: Now, I’m not a professional photographer, so bare with me... but, we replaced the fixtures and with the walnut floors the kitchen cabinet color looked updated right away! The windows and natural light don’t hurt either!



Before: The living room had some old white carpet in it, and the walls were a cream beige color. Along with the brass fixtures, this room was in need of an update!



After: We took the wood floors throughout the living room, added a light gray paint to the walls and replaced the ceieling fixture with a slightly more modern light! Also, took down the stained curtains to let that natural light in and voila, updated!


Thanks for joining me on this little tour!! Can’t wait to show you more!


Xoxo Kaelyn





53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page