top of page
Search

Self-Care September

I'm hopping on the bandwagon here... who's up for some self care September? Personally I'm not just talking about a deep cleansing mask, and a nice long bubble bath (although that sounds great, don't forget the wine!). I'm more thinking along the lines of a mental and physical self care September.

If you're anything like me, you hopped on that new years resolution to be a healthier you. You got that gym membership, joined that new workout group and crushed your goals up until about March. Spring came around you took a small hiatus and then decided you probably needed to step it up again to meet that Summer bod you were dreaming about. My personal goal is always July 4th. We do a big camping (more like cabining) trip every summer with my husbands family and we use that trip as a big goal to keep our fitness lifestyle going. It seems though, as that weekend comes and goes we tend to fall into our bad habits again. We slip back into a few more summer beers on the deck and a couple more dine-out meals with the family. While I'm all about balance over here, we have really slipped into a more unbalanced lifestyle lately. Which in my case also affects my metal health as well.


For most of my fitness life, I've utilize my mornings to get my workouts done.(4:00 AM early, which is killer for me) I'm an out of home working mom (well up until last Friday, more to come on that!) who easily makes excuses about not having enough time to fit in that workout at the end of the day. I found it's easiest to just talk myself into getting it done in the morning. I am still a firm believer in a morning workout. I love the feeling of knowing you've crushed an amazing workout at the start of your day. It not only is nice to have it done and out of the way, but it sets you up for making healthier choices the rest of your day as well. In saying that, now that I will be staying home for a few months to get our family and home comfortable in a new city. I am struggling with that motivation to get out of bed early, knowing I can just get it done later. SO I've recommitted to myself, I won't be getting up early like I was during my career days, but I will be hitting the gym everyday after I drop the kids off at school. I will be making healthy eating choices during the day. And I will also still be flexible and cut myself some slack when I mess up, because it's going to happen. Knowing you can still live a well rounded lifestyle is what helps me stick to my goals. It's what brings me back every time I slip up. I don't have to be so hard on myself if I go off the tracks and eat out everyday for a week. It's ok. I can hop back into my flexible diet and everything will be just fine!

This September, I will be working on myself, mentally and physically. It's going to be a challenging month, but with challenge comes growth. So much change is coming, but having a consistent schedule to fall back on will help me to stay calm, and stress less.


So, friends. I challenge you to set a September goal for yourself! Let me know what it might be in the comments below! Self care September is already in motion, why not jump on the band wagon?


xoxo

Kaelyn

35 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
bottom of page